Desktop platform icon iOS platform icon This functionality is available on Onshape's browser and iOS platforms only.

Onshape provides a mechanism for merging from a document version or workspace (referred to as the Source) into your currently active document workspace (referred to as the Target). Specifically, when you merge a selected Source (workspace or version) into the currently active Target (workspace), all changes made in the Source are merged into the Target, including any additional features, tabs, etc.

Accessing the Merge action

Access the Merge action from the context menu in the Versions and history flyout:

Example of how to access the merge action from the context menu in the Versions and history flyout

 

How it worksCopy link

When you open the Versions and history flyout, the currently active workspace is highlighted (this is referred to as the Target).

To merge another workspace or version (the Source) into the active workspace (the Target), open the context menu for the Source and select Merge into current workspace:

Example of opening the context menu for the Source and seleting Merge into current workspace

All changes made in the Source are merged into the currently active workspace (Target). This action is recorded in the Versions and history flyout entries and you can restore from a previous record to reverse the merge action, if necessary. For more information about restoring versions, see Document Management.

When merging workspaces containing drawings, images, PDFs or other tabs that are not Part Studios or Assemblies, if changes have been made to the tab in both Source and Target branches, then the changes in the Source branch overwrite the changes in the Target branch. For example, if you update a PDF tab in both branches (Source and Target) and then merge the branches, the PDF in the Source branch will be in the Target branch after the merge.

TipsCopy link

When merging workspaces containing drawings (as in a Drawings tab), the drawing that has changes is favored during the merge, and when the drawing has changes in both the Source and Target branches, the Source drawing will be favored, specifically:

  • If a drawing in the Source has changes that are not in the drawing in the Target, then the drawing in the Source is copied into the Target, replacing the drawing in the Target. Any changes made in the drawing in the Target that are not in the Source will be overwritten.
  • If a drawing in the Source workspace has no changes (compared to the drawing in Target), then the drawing in Target is left unchanged.

We recommend that you work in a drawing in one workspace (branch) and merge from that branch into other branches. Working in a drawing on two or more branches simultaneously may result in lost changes when you merge the drawing from one branch into another.