Deskop platform icon iOS platform icon Android platform icon This functionality is available on Onshape's browser, iOS, and Android platforms.

You have multiple options for organizing and then locating your data in Onshape. Onshape provides the following methods for organizing your data on the Documents page:

  • Use Onshape-supplied filters (as in My Onshape, Recently opened, Create by me, etc)
  • Create labels and attach them to documents to act as a filter
  • Create folders in which to group documents
  • For enterprises, create projects in which to group folders and documents
  • Create teams of users, not necessarily people in your organization or on your Onshape account (teams can be created by the owner of an account and also by individual members of an account)

All of these constructs act as filters and are listed in the filter list on the left side of the Documents page, except for folders; folders are listed in the documents list and tile views). To filter by any of these, simply select one either in the filter list on the left, or select a folder (or project) in the list or tile view.

Onshape filters

On the left of the Documents page is a list of pre-defined filters to aid you in finding folders and documents. Select one to filter the list of documents:

  • My Onshape filter icon My Onshape filter - Lists all folders and documents you have created as well as all those shared explicitly with you.
  • Recently opened filter icon Recently opened filter - Lists documents most recently opened by you or another user with permissions to the document.
  • To remove a document from this filter list, select the document and right-click to access the context menu. Select Remove from recently opened.

  • Created by me filter icon Created by me filter - Lists those documents you have created yourself regardless of owner.
  • Shared with me filter icon Shared with me filter - Lists all documents shared with you explicitly by another Onshape user.
  • Teams filter icon Teams filter - If you are a member of a team, those filters are inserted at this point in the list, and include documents and folders shared with the team. Teams are collapsed under the Teams label.

    Note that if the account you belong to has many teams, you see only those teams that you are a member of. Anyone can create a team through Account settings.

  • Label icon Any labels you have created are listed, collapsed under Labels. Labels are user-specific. Create labels from the Create button or from the label icon in the button toolbar at the top of the window.
  • Public filter icon Public filter- Lists all documents made publicly available to all Onshape users by all other Onshape users. For actions specific to public documents, see Public documents, below.
  • Google drive icon Google drive or Dropbox filter icon Dropbox filters - If you have previously integrated your Google Drive and/or Dropbox account into Onshape, the filter appears above the Trash filter on your Documents page. To filter your search through your Google Drive account, click the Google drive icon icon. To filter your search through your Dropbox account, click the icon Dropbox filter icon. The email following the icon is the specific account you have integrated. You can integrate more than one account.

    Integrate your Dropbox or Google drive account through Integrations in your Account settings.

  • Trash filter icon Trash filter - Lists all documents that you have sent to trash. You see only those documents you have sent to trash. Note that any documents you delete from the Trash, and all those present in Trash when you click Empty Trash, are deleted forever. You can, however, right-click on any item in Trash and Restore it.

    When a document is permanently deleted, it cannot be retrieved, viewed, or edited.

    In the event you have a document in trash that another document links to, the document in Trash will not be automatically deleted by Onshape. You can delete it from the Trash yourself, in which case Onshape retains any information in that document that has been linked to by live (undeleted) documents so those documents remain valid. If all referencing documents are deleted (sent to Trash and then deleted), the previously retained information will be permanently deleted as well.

    Documents in Trash are not upgraded automatically with Onshape automatic releases. If you restore a document (or other item) from Trash after a new release of Onshape, you are prompted to upgrade the document at that time.

Public documentsCopy link

You can view all Public documents at once through the Public filter on the Documents page. The following information is displayed both in the list view and the tile view:

Public documents filter

Public documents

  • Name - The document and workspace names
  • Modified - The last time and date the document was modified
  • Owned by - The owner’s user name
  • Likes - The number of times the document has been ‘Liked’ by users; click the Like Button either in the tile view or on the Details flyout.
  • Links - The number of times this document (or an entity therein) has been referenced by another document
  • Copies - The number of times this document has been copied by other users

Public documents can be seen by all Onshape users, in a view-only capacity. However, keep in mind that any user can make a copy of a public document and then use that data. No copyright is inferred upon documents made available publicly. If you have a Free account, all of the documents you create are public by default. If you wish to create private documents, sign up for a paid subscription of Onshape.