Transfer Ownership

This functionality is available on Onshape's browser, iOS, and Android platforms.

Every document and folder is owned by either a user or a company. Users who belong to a company (in a Professional or Enterprise subscription) create company-owned documents and folders by default. Users who are not members of a company (that is, users in a Free, Education, or Standard subscription) automatically own the documents and folders they create. For users belonging to more than one paid subscription, a drop down is included in the Create document/folder dialog with which you are able to select the owner at the time of creation.

Keep in mind that ownership can be transferred from one owner to another, and from one company to another. This topic covers that information, and includes a discussion of how transferring ownership can sometimes affect metadata and in particular, release management.

 


Was this article helpful?

Last Updated: November 13, 2020